Boosey & Hawkes

Missa a cappella

| /
Einojuhani Rautavaara
SATB a cappella
Jointly commissioned in 2011 by four choirs around the world (Netherlands, Australia, England and Sweden), this large-scale choral work sets the words of all six parts of the ordinary of the Mass (the “Credo” was composed in 1972). The characteristic rich, soothing harmonies, beautifully-shaped, sometimes haunting melodies and variety of texture create an evocative and devotional work, challenging in places but ultimately fulfilling for both performers and audience. Contents: Kyrie • Gloria • Credo • Sanctus • Benedictus • Agnus Dei.