Boosey & Hawkes

Mount Rushmore for Chorus and Orchestra

| /
Michael Daugherty
SATB divisi
Mount Rushmore (2010) for chorus and orchestra is inspired by the monumental sculpture, located in the Black Hills of South Dakota, of four American presidents: George Washington (1732-1799), Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826), Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919) and Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865). The American sculptor Gutzon Borglum supervised the carving of these figureheads into the granite mountainside of Mount Rushmore, from 1927 until his death in 1941. Created during the Great Depression (1927-1941) against seemingly impossible odds with a small crew of men, Mount Rushmore came to symbolize an attitude of hope against adversity. Borglum described the monument as “American drawn from American sources, memorializing American achievement.” Drawing from American musical sources and texts, Daugherty's composition echoes the resonance and dissonance of Mount Rushmore as a complex icon of American history. Like Mount Rushmore, the libretto is carved out of the words of each President. Orchestra score and parts are available for hire from the publisher. (2 piccolo, 2 clar in A, 2 bass clar; 2 bsn, brass are 4.3.3, 1 timp., 3 perc. (1. Chimes, Glock, Xyl, Sus. Cymbal, cello bow, yarn mallets, triangle; 2. Vib, picc. snare, triangle, large Mark Tree; 3. large bass drum, large sus. cymbal large whip, cello bow, yarn mallets)